Some Common Questions and Answers About Divorce - Texas Legal Resources
a) How much will it cost to do your own divorce? The filing fees are set from time to time by law, and costs vary slightly from one county to another. These days, it costs a little over $100 to file papers in a case where your spouse signs a Waiver of the Citation, and about $10 more if the Citation must be issued, plus the Sheriff's fee of around $70 for serving the Citation on your spouse. Add to this a few dollars for photocopies and postage, and that's it. If you were to hire an attorney, you would have to pay these charges in addition to the lawyer's fee, so you will be paying them in any event.
b) How long will it take? The shortest possible time to complete a divorce is 61 days from the filing of the Petition, but plan on a bit longer, say three months. It is okay to take longer if you are in no hurry.
c) What is we reconcile? If you file a divorce Petition and later reconcile and change your mind, just let it lie there. Within a few months it will be dismissed for lack of prosecution, after a written notice from the clerk.
d) When can we remarry? After your final Decree of divorce is ordered you must wait at least 30 days before marring anyone other than the spouse you just divorce.
e) What about alimony? Alimony refers to the duty of one spouse to support the other after a divorce. Texas does not impose alimony by law, but the parties are free to agree to it if they wish. You can make alimony a part of a Martial Settlement Contract.
f) What if the wife is pregnant? You should wait until the child is born to get a divorce. If you can't wait, find an attorney.
g) Am I liable for my spouse's bills? During the marriage, both spouses are liable for the bills of the other. After the divorce, the parties are responsible only for their own bills.